(Disclaimer: I reserve the right to change any and all opinions on this dreaded holiday should I ever actually find a decent man. Thank you.)
I hate Valentines Day.
No, no...you don't understand. I HATE Valentines Day.
For someone who claims to be a Hopeless Romantic, as I am, this may seem...odd..I guess, but there are reasons. Very valid reasons, I think.
1. Valentines Day was my anniversary. Yeah. I had been married on V-Day. How freakin' romantic is THAT I ask you? Well, the idea of marrying on that day, anyway. He, himself, was not so romantic. How can I be so sure? Let us compare my Valentine/Anniversary gifts, first year and last, shall we?
Gift the first year of marriage: Gum and a candy bar. No, I am not lying. Gum and a freakin' candy bar. No roses. No, well, I guess technically there was candy, but I think a brown wrapper saying "Hershey's" somehow kills the romantic ideal there.
Gift the last year of marriage: No gift. No card. No phone call to say "hi" or "Happy Anniversary" or "Happy Valentines Day." No, what I got that year was a husband who came home drunk at 3a.m. telling me "Big deal...and tomorrow we'll be married 13 years and a day. Wanna celebrate that shit, too?"
The years in between weren't much better. Gee, wonder why I divorced him.
(Are you seeing a vague reason why this isn't my favorite holiday?)
2. I have no one. This is the holiday for romance and couples and mushy stuff, no? Granted, I am alone by choice...kinda...but still. It is hard, really hard, to be a single, boyfriend-less woman on Valentines Day. It makes you feel like a leper.
3. Do you own a TV? A radio? Do you see/hear the constant barrage of commercials for every jeweler known to man talking about giving her the perfect diamond to celebrate your once-in-a-lifetime-forever-love? Need I say more?
4. I work in a floral shop. A beautiful, growing floral shop. Next to Mr.-once-in-a-lifetime-diamond guy, I'm pretty much the busiest woman on the planet. Okay, CINDY is, but...I help. And the shop is full of men.. Handsome, loving, thoughtful, sweet, romantic men all buying gifts, animals, roses, balloons for every woman but ME. Helloooooo?!? And the cards I have to write? The winner has to be the guy who ordered a dozen roses and one silk rose in the center of the arrangement with a card that reads "I'll love you until the last flower dies." Come on. That shit would make Hitler cry. My GOD. Now, don't get me wrong. If you nice young men want to come to the shop and buy flowers for your women and make Cindy lots of moolah, by all means do it. I'll just wait to cry until I get home.
I loved being in love. I loved having someone. Or maybe I loved the idea of it all because the situation itself kinda bit most of the time. See, I should be with someone who likes romance, passion, intimacy. Who loves it. Who appreciates it and all the little things people in love are supposed to do for each other. And not just on Valentines Day, but every day. I don't think romance and passion and love SHOULD be reserved for one day a year. If you're lucky enough to find it, to have it, to have someone you truly love and who truly loves you back, every day should be a celebration of that love....not one day a year.
And certainly not with gum.
